Connect with us


UW-La Crosse has new chancellor, months after Joe Gow firing over pornographic videos



Chancellor candidate James Beeby speaks at UWL on March 11, 2024. (PHOTO: Brad Williams)

The next chancellor of UW-La Crosse will come to Wisconsin by way of New Hampshire.

Dr. James Beeby was picked by the UW Board of Regents to lead the La Crosse campus, beginning in July.

Beeby is a provost at Keene State College and was one of three finalists for chancellor, who spoke at forums on the UW-La Crosse campus last week.

He was recommended for the post by Universities of Wisconsin president Jay Rothman and a special regent search committee.

Beeby, a native of Wales, will be paid $281,000 a year as UW-L chancellor — about $18,000 more than what Gow was making. The new chancellor takes office July 1.

FILE: Joe Gow was dismissed as chancellor of UWL last December. (photo: UW-La Crosse)

Beeby will succeed interim chancellor Betsy Morgan, who was also among the finalists, along with provost Christopher Olsen from Indiana State.

Morgan was promoted to the top job on campus after Joe Gow was fired as chancellor in December, when UW officials learned that Gow and his wife had been creating and posting homemade pornographic videos.

Gow’s tenure will be reviewed, to determine if he can remain on the UW-L campus, as a communications professor.

A native of Prairie du Chien, Brad graduated from UW - La Crosse and has worked in radio news for more than 30 years, mostly in the La Crosse area. He regularly covers local courts and city and county government. Brad produces the features "Yesterday in La Crosse" and "What's Buried on Brad's Desk." He also writes the website "Triviazoids," which finds odd connections between events that happen on a certain date, and he writes and performs with the local comedy group Heart of La Crosse. Brad been featured on several national TV programs because of his memory skills.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *