Connect with us


County board seats, circuit judge race to be decided by La Crosse County voters in spring



County board elections are expected in 20 out of the 30 districts in La Crosse County this April.

As of Tuesday’s filing deadline, 10 candidates for the board will be unopposed in the spring balloting. Eight of the unopposed contenders already serve on the board. No county board primaries will be needed in February, because there are no more than two candidates running in any district.

All 30 seats will be on the April ballot, on the same day as Wisconsin’s presidential primary. The winners will serve 2-year terms.

A race for a circuit court seat in La Crosse County is also planned for April. Judge Mark Huesmann, appointed last year upon the retirement of Judge Todd Bjerke, will seek election in the spring.

Challenging Huesmann will be former Judge Candice Tlustosch. The winner will start a term in August. Three other La Crosse County judges, Ramona Gonzalez, Elliott Levine, and Scott Horne, have terms ending in the summer of 2025.

A native of Prairie du Chien, Brad graduated from UW - La Crosse and has worked in radio news for more than 30 years, mostly in the La Crosse area. He regularly covers local courts and city and county government. Brad produces the features "Yesterday in La Crosse" and "What's Buried on Brad's Desk." He also writes the website "Triviazoids," which finds odd connections between events that happen on a certain date, and he writes and performs with the local comedy group Heart of La Crosse. Brad been featured on several national TV programs because of his memory skills.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *