Connect with us


La Crosse Police Chief finalists announced

Drew Kelly



The next La Crosse Police Chief will be a current member of the department.

All three finalists to succeed departed Chief Ron Tischer are currently captains.

Jason Melby, Daniel Kloss and Shawn Kudron were identified by the city as finalists.

A fourth candidate, Brian Bassett, who is Deputy Police Chief in Southfield, Mich., took his name out of the running.

Interim Police Chief Rob Abraham announced a few weeks about he would not apply for the job.

The next step in the process is for the three to be interviewed over the next two weeks.

A dozen people applied for the vacancy, after Tischer took a police chief job in Arizona this summer.

Born in Decorah Iowa. I've been a news reporter for the last 10 years, starting right out of college in Fort Dodge, Iowa. Other professional opportunities led me to Marshalltown, Iowa and Antigo Wisconsin, before I finally was afforded the opportunity here in La Crosse. I've been here since 2016. I also act as the voice of local sports, doing play by play of high school and college football and basketball. When not working I enjoy golfing.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *