Connect with us


Two La Crosse County supervisors taken off ballot over disputed signatures



Two members of the La Crosse County Board might not appear as candidates for re-election in April, because of problems with their nomination papers. 

The county clerk’s office ruled enough signatures to be invalid to remove Doug Weidenbach and Isaac Tahiri from the spring ballot. 

Weidenbach disputes claims that he did not personally collect all the signatures on his papers himself in the county’s 3rd District. 

He says another person assisted him in gathering names, and he was present at the time the papers were signed.

One of the signatures in dispute was from La Crosse city council member Barb Janssen, who filed papers to run against Weidenbach.

Janssen says Weidenbach did not personally get her signature, but he had later signed the paper which had her name on it.

Janssen says she learned of the problem after she submitted her own nomination papers.

Tahiri was found to have gathered some signatures from people who had already signed papers for his opponent in the 5th District.     

When the duplicate signatures were ruled out, Tahiri fell below the minimum number to qualify for the ballot.

County clerk Ginny Dankmeyer also ruled that Onalaska municipal judge John Brinckman be removed as a candidate for re-election to his post, because of a failure to file a financial statement on time.

A native of Prairie du Chien, Brad graduated from UW - La Crosse and has worked in radio news for more than 30 years, mostly in the La Crosse area. He regularly covers local courts and city and county government. Brad produces the features "Yesterday in La Crosse" and "What's Buried on Brad's Desk." He also writes the website "Triviazoids," which finds odd connections between events that happen on a certain date, and he writes and performs with the local comedy group Heart of La Crosse. Brad been featured on several national TV programs because of his memory skills.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *