Connect with us


Kahlow narrowly edges Janssen for La Crosse city council president



The La Crosse city council begins a new term with a new president and two members joining for the first time.

Incumbent president Barb Janssen was replaced by Chris Kahlow, by a 7-6 vote.

On Tuesday, six members, who won elections on April 4, were sworn in for four-year terms, including new members Tamara Dickinson in the 1st District and Erin Goggin in the 2nd.

The two women won open seats to succeed retired council members Andrea Richmond and Scott Neumeister.

Kahlow and Janssen were among four veteran council members who also took their oaths for new terms.

The others were Larry Sleznikow and UW-La Crosse student Jenesea Hameister, who was just appointed to a seat last fall before being elected this month.

The other seven council seats and the mayor will be up for election in 2025.

During a brief speech Tuesday, Mayor Mitch Reynolds said service in city government “can be strenuous,” but also fulfilling. He urged council members to be “kind to each other” and “collegial.”

A native of Prairie du Chien, Brad graduated from UW - La Crosse and has worked in radio news for more than 30 years, mostly in the La Crosse area. He regularly covers local courts and city and county government. Brad produces the features "Yesterday in La Crosse" and "What's Buried on Brad's Desk." He also writes the website "Triviazoids," which finds odd connections between events that happen on a certain date, and he writes and performs with the local comedy group Heart of La Crosse. Brad been featured on several national TV programs because of his memory skills.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *