Connect with us


Familiar names found on April ballots in La Crosse area

Brad Williams



Voters in Onalaska will have four candidates for mayor to choose from in the February primary. 

“Moon Tunes” concert organizer Terry Bauer became the fourth candidate to file papers for the mayor’s race on Tuesday, the last day to qualify for the ballot. 

Bauer joins Bob Muth, Jim Binash, and interim mayor Kim Smith in the primary field to succeed Joe Chilsen, who recently stepped down as Onalaska mayor for health reasons. 

Smith also is still listed as a candidate for the council seat she has held in the 3rd District, with Jack Pogreba running for that seat as well. 

Councilman Jim Olson is being challenged by Thomas Harmon, while a third Onalaska council member, Diane Wulf, is running unopposed for re-election.

Pogreba will be a candidate for two local government jobs in the spring, also filing for a La Crosse County Board seat.

Eleven of the 29 county districts are scheduled to have contested board races in April, with no primaries set for next month.

The general election happens on April 7.