Connect with us


Three newest members of school board in La Crosse take their seats; board selects Jimenez as new president



The La Crosse Board of Education holds its organizational meeting on April 22, 2024 (PHOTO: Brad Williams)

The La Crosse School Board welcomed three newly elected members during an organizational meeting Monday night.

Tim Alberts, Adam Manka, and Jim Bagniewski took the oath of office, three weeks after being elected to open seats on the nine-member board.

Three incumbents, whose terms expired this spring, including school board president Annie Bauman, chose not to seek reelection.

Alberts and Central High School student Manka were the only two candidates to qualify for the spring ballot.

Several write-in candidates announced after the filing deadline. Bagniewski ended up with the third-most votes and the most among those write-in candidates.

Jim Bagniewski (left to right)), Tim Alberts and Adam Manka are sworn in as the newest La Crosse School Board members on April 22, 2024 (PHOTO: Brad Williams)

After the swearing-in, the board chose officers for the coming year.

Juan Jimenez and Trevor Sprague were nominated for president. Sprague, however, declined the nomination and Jimenez was elected. Jimenez had previously held that position, before Baumann was voted president.

Sprague was later chosen treasurer — a post held this past year by Jimenez.

Deb Suchla was chosen as board vice president and Merideth Garcia will continue as the board’s clerk.

La Crosse board members serve for three-year terms, and three seats are up for election every April.

A native of Prairie du Chien, Brad graduated from UW - La Crosse and has worked in radio news for more than 30 years, mostly in the La Crosse area. He regularly covers local courts and city and county government. Brad produces the features "Yesterday in La Crosse" and "What's Buried on Brad's Desk." He also writes the website "Triviazoids," which finds odd connections between events that happen on a certain date, and he writes and performs with the local comedy group Heart of La Crosse. Brad been featured on several national TV programs because of his memory skills.

Continue Reading


  1. LG

    April 23, 2024 at 5:16 pm

    So… The people who will have to pay for the school, whether we want it or not, will be the taxpayers. They will not have a choice, but to pay the tax or risk foreclosure, fines, Penalties, interest, maybe even imprisonment.

    It’s up to you new school board members to stop this. The math doesn’t work out. Save 2 million by consolidating schools, spend 53 million to build a new building. That’s a $51 million spending spree not a $2 million savings.

    If the school board board cannot stop this, I hope the taxpayers stop it dead in their tracks. Educate our children. Don’t build buildings to make the superintendent look good for future employment.

    • waldenhuthut

      April 24, 2024 at 10:49 pm

      Bill and Betty taxpayer have checked out and are not capable of the effort to question Engel’s lies. The Board has been neutered by no other than the clown they just elected as President. A more impotent group has never been assembled.

  2. waldenhuthut

    April 24, 2024 at 12:31 pm

    After two elections following the high school consolidation referendum fiasco, where the candidates promised change and improved transparency, the school board re-elected as President the same guy that was President at that time and has thwarted change and has done nothing to improve transparency.

    Its a BIG disappointment Board support was unanimous. Can I have my votes back? I voted for change.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *