Connect with us


Tryggestad chosen as new chair of La Crosse County Board following April elections



An eight-year veteran of the La Crosse County Board has been elected as the group’s new chair.

On Tuesday, county supervisors chose Tina Tryggestad of La Crosse as chair to succeed Monica Kruse, who remains on the board but has stepped down from leadership. Tryggestad was elected chair by a vote of 19-to-11 against the only other nominee, Mike Baroni.

The new chair says she is “honored and humbled” by the position, and wants to encourage “candid” dialogue on the county board. Kim Cable and David Pierce were chosen as vice-chairs of the county board for the new two-year term starting this week. Tryggestad was a restaurant owner for 21 years, and is now employed in community action work.

David Pierce, Tina Tryggestad, and Kim Cable are the new leadership team on the La Crosse County Board

Judge Scott Horne administered the oath of office to all 30 supervisors who were elected on April 2nd. Seven new supervisors joined the county board as a result of this month’s elections, with only three members of the old board being voted out.

A native of Prairie du Chien, Brad graduated from UW - La Crosse and has worked in radio news for more than 30 years, mostly in the La Crosse area. He regularly covers local courts and city and county government. Brad produces the features "Yesterday in La Crosse" and "What's Buried on Brad's Desk." He also writes the website "Triviazoids," which finds odd connections between events that happen on a certain date, and he writes and performs with the local comedy group Heart of La Crosse. Brad been featured on several national TV programs because of his memory skills.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *