Connect with us


La Crosse’s city council, county board start “new years” this week



It’s “New Year’s Week” for some local governments, as they reorganize for another year of business following Wisconsin’s spring elections.

Both the La Crosse County Board and the La Crosse City Council will have organizational meetings at 6 p.m. Tuesday.

Six city council members, including two just newly elected, will be sworn in at City Hall to four-year terms.

That includes Tamara Dickinson and Erin Goggin, both chosen to succeed council members Andrea Richmond and Scott Neumeister, who did not run for re-election. The two were celebrated for their time on the council at last week’s meeting.

The other seven council seats and a mayoral race will be on the city ballot in April of 2025.

Mayor Mitch Reynolds was offered, last week on La Crosse Talk PM, if he wanted to announce his reelection bid, he could, coming off those spring elections, where $45 million was put into a state Supreme Court race.

“I am not going to announce that,” he said.

Four newly elected La Crosse School Board members will take office at a meeting on April 24.

The County Board is between elections, with the next one happening in April of 2024, so it doesn’t have much organizing to do.

The board’s agenda includes resolutions on renewable energy and solar power and a strategic plan discussion will follow the regular meeting.

A native of Prairie du Chien, Brad graduated from UW - La Crosse and has worked in radio news for more than 30 years, mostly in the La Crosse area. He regularly covers local courts and city and county government. Brad produces the features "Yesterday in La Crosse" and "What's Buried on Brad's Desk." He also writes the website "Triviazoids," which finds odd connections between events that happen on a certain date, and he writes and performs with the local comedy group Heart of La Crosse. Brad been featured on several national TV programs because of his memory skills.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *