Connect with us


Biden, Smith win statewide elections, while Republicans win local SE Minnesota races



Minnesota Senators Amy Klobuchar (left) and Tina Smith.

In Minnesota, U.S. Congressman Jim Hagedorn kept his seat in the District 1, which represents the southern half of the state, including Houston County.

The Republican, Hagedorn, won with 48.8% of the vote over Democrat Dan Feehan, who lost by just under 12,000 votes.

The difference in the race could have been from the third-party candidate Bill Rood, who took 5.8% of the vote, which made up just over 20,000 votes. Rood represented the “Grassroots-Legalize Cannabis Party of Minnesota.”

In the U.S. Senate, Democratic incumbent Tina Smith defeated Republican Jason Lewis by over 5 points, getting 49% of the vote (1,532,991-1,364,409).

Joe Biden defeated Donald Trump for the state’s 10 electoral votes with 52.6% of the vote. Trump got 45.5%. Biden won 1,679,827-1,447,584.

In the Minnesota state Senate race for District 28, Republican Jeremy Miller defeated Democrat Sarah Kruger with 57.6% of the vote (24,354-17,913).

And in the state House for District 28B, Republican Greg Davids defeated Democrat Jordan Fontenello with 63.7% of the vote (14,334-8,170).

Host of WIZM's La Crosse Talk PM | University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point graduate | Hometown: Greenville, Wis | Avid noonball basketball player and sand volleyballer in La Crosse