Connect with us


Suchla top vote-getter in La Crosse School Board race; two new city council members chosen



A veteran of the La Crosse School Board appears to be returning to the board after a five-year absence. 

Deb Suchla led a field of eight candidates for the board, with more than half of the county precincts counted.  Four open seats on the nine-person board are being filled in the April election. 

Suchla was followed in second place by Scott Neumeister, who is retiring from the La Crosse City Council to run for school board.  Close behind Neumeister in preliminary returns were Trevor Sprague and Jeff Jackson.  

Four incumbents on the board whose terms are expiring chose not to run in the spring election.  Meanwhile, more than 60 percent of the voters supported a $60 million operating referendum for the La Crosse district, to help pay school expenses over the next 10 years. 

In city of La Crosse races, Tamra Dickinson and Erin Goggin have been elected to join the city council. 

In District 1, Dickinson received 516 votes compared to 427 for Zach Harter.  Both were running to succeed retiring council veteran Andrea Richmond.  For District 2, Erin Goggin received 508 votes and Michael Davis had 227.  Goggin wins the seat being vacated by Scott Neumeister, who chose to run for the La Crosse school board instead. 

Four other La Crosse council members ran unopposed on the Tuesday ballot.

A native of Prairie du Chien, Brad graduated from UW - La Crosse and has worked in radio news for more than 30 years, mostly in the La Crosse area. He regularly covers local courts and city and county government. Brad produces the features "Yesterday in La Crosse" and "What's Buried on Brad's Desk." He also writes the website "Triviazoids," which finds odd connections between events that happen on a certain date, and he writes and performs with the local comedy group Heart of La Crosse. Brad been featured on several national TV programs because of his memory skills.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *