Connect with us


Two new elected officials in La Crosse County are sworn in



La Crosse County’s new sheriff and clerk of courts have taken office.  Sheriff John Siegel and clerk Tammy Pedretti won their jobs in the November election, and both took the oath of office on Tuesday.  Judge Scott Horne presided over the ceremony.

Pedretti won the fall election against Kelly Goyette, who was appointed as clerk of court a year earlier.  Siegel defeated Fritz Leinfelder in the race to succeed Sheriff Jeff Wolf, in a contest which led to a partial recount.

Sheriff’s deputies and deputy clerks of court also were administered the oath at Tuesday’s ceremony at the La Crosse Courthouse.

La Crosse County sheriff’s deputies take an oath of office on Tuesday.

Both Siegel and Pedretti were elected to four-year terms. Other department heads, including county clerk and district attorney, will be on the ballot in the fall of 2024.

A native of Prairie du Chien, Brad graduated from UW - La Crosse and has worked in radio news for more than 30 years, mostly in the La Crosse area. He regularly covers local courts and city and county government. Brad produces the features "Yesterday in La Crosse" and "What's Buried on Brad's Desk." He also writes the website "Triviazoids," which finds odd connections between events that happen on a certain date, and he writes and performs with the local comedy group Heart of La Crosse. Brad been featured on several national TV programs because of his memory skills.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *