Connect with us


Nine running for four La Crosse school board seats; nine others seek spots on La Crosse city council



There are so many candidates for the La Crosse school board this year, they’ll need a February primary to narrow the field.

Nine people have filed papers for the four seats that will be on the April ballot. That means just one contender will be eliminated in next month’s primary vote.

The list of board candidates includes former board member Deb Suchla and retiring La Crosse city council member Scott Neumeister. Also qualifying for the ballot are Tim Alberts, Kathi Blanchard, Kevin Hundt, Jeff Jackson, Kimberly Krejchik, Trevor Sprague and Jerry Wacek.

None of the four board members whose seats are up for election chose to run again. Three board seats are for three-year terms and the fourth opening will be for just one year.

Six city council seats at stake in La Crosse’s April election

Another primary has developed in a La Crosse council race for Neumeister’s seat.

Three candidates all filed papers for District 2 — Michael Davis, Jace Lippert and Erin Goggin.

Just before Tuesday’s filing deadline, only two of the six districts that have elections in April had more than one declared candidate.

Four incumbents are expected to run unopposed for new four-year seats.

The next election for mayor of La Crosse will be in 2025.

A native of Prairie du Chien, Brad graduated from UW - La Crosse and has worked in radio news for more than 30 years, mostly in the La Crosse area. He regularly covers local courts and city and county government. Brad produces the features "Yesterday in La Crosse" and "What's Buried on Brad's Desk." He also writes the website "Triviazoids," which finds odd connections between events that happen on a certain date, and he writes and performs with the local comedy group Heart of La Crosse. Brad been featured on several national TV programs because of his memory skills.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *