Connect with us


La Crosse Board of Education re-elects officers, approves appointments



The La Crosse School District Board of Education re-elected several officers at a reorganizational meeting Monday night. The election results were as follows:

School District President: Dr. Laurie Cooper Stoll

School District Vice President: Brad Quarberg

School District Clerk: Dawn Comeau

School District Treasurer: Keonte Turner

School Board Secretary: Laura Steigerwald  

In addition to the election, the Board also approved three administrative appointments. Eric Check will serve as Principal of Emerson Elementary School beginning July 1. Check has been a member of the school district since 2005 serving as a coach, teacher, athletic director, and most recently as dean of students at Lincoln Middle School. He graduated from the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse with a Bachelor’s Degree in education and received his master’s in educational administration from Viterbo University.

“I have a great level of pride to be here in La Crosse and to continue serving, and thankful that my family gets to be a part of the La Crosse School District as well,” Check said.

Kari Huth was selected as principal for Spence Elementary. She has 20 years of education experience serving as a teacher in the West Salem School District, working at CESA as a program and instructional resources director as well as acting as an instructional resources coordinator in the school district of Holmen. For the last three years, she was an elementary principal in the Cashton school district. Huth graduated from the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse with a Bachelor of Arts Degree and earned her masters in professional development from UWL.  

“I very much look forward to serving the School District of La Crosse in multiple ways,” Huth said. “It has been wonderful for myself to get to know some of the staff even through just the interview process.”

Marilyn Volden will serve as the district’s new school nutrition supervisor. She was a school nutrition director for more than 17 years in Viroqua and Westby. She later worked for La Crosse County as a health educator for four years. For the past five years, Volden has been the school nutrition specialist in the school district of La Crosse. She will replace retiring director Lyn Halvorson. She earned her Bachelor of Science degree at Viterbo University and has been a member of the School Nutrition Association of Wisconsin since 1990.

Kaitlyn Riley’s passion for communications started on her family’s dairy farm in Gays Mills, Wis. Wanting to share agriculture’s story, she studied strategic communications and broadcast journalism at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. In college, she held officer positions with the Association of Women in Agriculture and Badger Dairy Club while volunteering as a news reporter for the college radio station. She also founded the university’s first agricultural radio talk show, AgChat. In her professional career, Kaitlyn has worked in radio, print and television news doing everything from covering local events to interviewing presidential candidates, and putting back on her barn boots to chat with farmers in the field. Today, Kaitlyn can be seen covering local stories that matter to you in the La Crosse area.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *