Connect with us


Kruse chosen as new La Crosse County Board chair



The La Crosse County Board chooses an 11-year board veteran as its new leader. 

Monica Kruse was unopposed, as she was elected on Tuesday night as board chairman for the next two years. 

Kruse thanked fellow supervisors for placing their faith in her, and said “Let’s get to work.”

She succeeds Tara Johnson, who retired from the board this month after 20 years as a supervisor, the last eight as board chair.     

Former board chair Steve Doyle nominated Kruse, calling her a “consummate consensus builder” on the county board.  

What might normally be a fairly routine post-election board meeting was complicated a bit by social distancing.

Since supervisors elected this month were attending by Skype, some of them wound up talking over each other while taking the oath of office from Judge Scott Horne.   

Kim Cable was named first vice-chair. 

Voting took several minutes on-line, especially because it took three ballots to choose Andrea Richmond as second vice-chair.

Richmond and Randy Erickson were tied on the second ballot, and one vote apparently switched to Richmond on the third ballot.

A native of Prairie du Chien, Brad graduated from UW - La Crosse and has worked in radio news for more than 30 years, mostly in the La Crosse area. He regularly covers local courts and city and county government. Brad produces the features "Yesterday in La Crosse" and "What's Buried on Brad's Desk." He also writes the website "Triviazoids," which finds odd connections between events that happen on a certain date, and he writes and performs with the local comedy group Heart of La Crosse. Brad been featured on several national TV programs because of his memory skills.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.