Connect with us


La Crosse County Board chair Johnson retiring in April

Tara Johnson visited the Mitch Reynolds talk show on WIZM in 2018

Brad Williams



The La Crosse County Board will get a new chair after the April elections. 

Current chair Tara Johnson is not running for re-election, ending 20 years on the board. 

Johnson declared on Thursday that she won’t be a candidate again in the 29th District, citing her husband’s health and her interest in seeing new leaders take charge in county government. 

Johnson, a former director of the La Crosse area United Way, has served on the county board since 2000, and became the chair in 2011, when former chairman Steve Doyle was elected to the state Assembly. 

The departing chair says La Crosse County has accomplished lots of development since she first became board chair, especially moving county offices into the former Associated Bank and helping turn the old courthouse square into the Belle Square complex. 

Johnson is one of four supervisors in the county so far to announce that they will not run again in 2020.