Connect with us


La Crosse County opens flood recovery center today



FEMA inspectors should be back in the La Crosse area soon, helping families get assistance for repairing summer flood damage.

Two disaster recovery centers are open in the La Crosse area this week  one in La Crosse County for the next three days and one for Vernon County in Westby, which will be there an undetermined time.

Sandy Jasmund from the Chicago office of FEMA said the amount of insurance you have will limit how much money the government can offer.

“Flood insurance, if a person has it, or any type of homeowners policy, all of that needs to come first, so we can’t duplicate any type of benefits,” she said.

The La Crosse Recovery Center, inside the county administrative building downtown, will be open from 9 a.m.6 p.m. Wednesday through Friday.

The top dollar amount available for relief payments, a family could qualify for up to $34,900. The registration deadline for the region is Dec. 17.

Flood victims will have to register online at DisasterAssitance.gov or by phone (including the FEMA app) before cases can be evaluated.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.