Connect with us

Local News

Walker asks White House for flooding disaster declaration



Counties like La Crosse would get up to 75% costs for clean up 

MADISON, Wis. — Gov. Scott Walker is asking President Donald Trump for a federal disaster declaration for 11 flood-ravaged counties in western Wisconsin.

Walker made the request to Trump on Wednesday. The declaration would allow local governments in Buffalo, Crawford, Grant, Iowa, Jackson, La Crosse, Lafayette, Monroe, Richland, Trempealeau and Vernon counties to recover up to 75 percent of their clean-up costs through the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s Public Assistance Program.

Severe storms moved across western Wisconsin from July 19-23, causing flash flooding and several rivers to rise to major flood stage. FEMA has estimated the storms and floods caused more than $10 million in damage to public infrastructure, emergency protection costs and debris removal costs.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *