* indicates required
Wednesday - April 18, 2018 1:28 am

Not much change on La Crosse County Board, which got sworn in Tuesday

Written by

It's the beginning of new two-year terms for the La Crosse County Board.

Judge Scott Horne gave the oath to the full board Tuesday night, two weeks after the spring election.

Actually, one of the 29 members did not take the oath last night.

Kevin Hoyer will be sworn in Thursday as the new supervisor for the 24th District. Hoyer defeated former supervisor Leon Pfaff by only two votes and prevailed in a recount just last week, so he has to wait longer to take office.

Tara Johnson was unanimously re-elected as board chair. She has led the board for several years.

Monica Kruse and Doug Weidenbach were chosen as vice chairs.

The board, elected April 3, changed only slightly from the lineup in March with two new supervisors. One defeated an incumbent, while the other was elected to an open seat.

Much of Tuesday's organizational meeting included a review of the county's code of ethics. The board did vote to keep 6 p.m. as the starting time for its twice-monthly meetings.

Brad Williams

A native of Prairie du Chien, Brad graduated from U-W-La Crosse and has worked in radio news for more than 30 years, mostly in the La Crosse area.  Brad writes the website "Triviazoids," which finds odd connections between events that happen on a certain date, and he writes and performs with the local comedy group Heart of La Crosse.  He's been featured on several national TV programs because of his memory skills.  

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.