* indicates required
Wednesday - February 21, 2018 8:57 am

Treasurer and Supreme Court races bring out primary voters in La Crosse County

Written by

Turnout prediction was 12% in county, but total was 14%

Fears of primary voters being discouraged by bad weather may not have come to pass in La Crosse County yesterday. 

The turnout for the county's primary elections was 14%...exceeding the county clerk's guess of 12%. 

Voters overwhelmingly picked treasurer's office staffer Amy Twitchell over Campbell town treasurer Chad Hawkins in a Democratic primary for La Crosse County treasurer, with Twitchell getting 80% of the votes. 

Twitchell goes against Republican Pamela Hollnagel in the spring. 

In the state Supreme Court primary, Rebecca Dallet received 45% of the La Crosse County vote, with Michael Screnock getting 31%, and Tim Burns having 24%.

Conservative Screnock led statewide with 46%, and will face Dallet in April.

A West Salem school referendum to reallocate $1.5 million for new school projects passed easily. 

Diane Wulf and Dan Stevens were the top candidates in a primary for one Onalaska city council seat.


Last modified on Wednesday - February 21, 2018 9:10 am
Brad Williams

A native of Prairie du Chien, Brad graduated from U-W-La Crosse and has worked in radio news for more than 30 years, mostly in the La Crosse area.  Brad writes the website "Triviazoids," which finds odd connections between events that happen on a certain date, and he writes and performs with the local comedy group Heart of La Crosse.  He's been featured on several national TV programs because of his memory skills.  

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.